## NOTICE OF MOTION – NORTH-SOUTH PUBLIC TRANSPORT SERVICE

This council notes the importance of robust public transport to service the needs of our communities and meet our climate change objectives and 2050 Road Map ambitions. Direct links between coastal wards such as Leigh and West Leigh and the largely residential wards of Belfairs, Eastwood Park and St Laurence are non-existent.

The current options for our residents require two or three separate bus journeys to complete a 2- or 3-mile journey taking over an hour or to take a single-passenger journey in their own vehicle or by taxi.

This is a barrier to economic growth, environmental improvements, education and employment, and creates social isolation for our residents.

## MOTION

Pronosor.

This council supports the ambition to establish a viable single Public Transport service to align directly London Southend Airport, The Airport Business Park, St. Laurence Ward, Eastwood Park Ward, Belfairs Ward, Blenheim Park Ward, Leigh & West Leigh Wards and Leigh Railway Station.

This council agrees to achieve this on its own behalf or with commercial partners.

Council recognises this would help to rebuild our local economy and will:

- 1. Provide a 'more integrated transport provision';
- 2. Help reduce car journeys, supporting the Council's zero emissions by 2030 ambition;
- 3. Aid the 2050 'Localities integrated health and care services provided locally' target;
- 4. Improve and enable employment mobility across the Borough;
- 5. Reduce social isolation and enable those who would otherwise be isolated to be part of our success as a Borough of choice to live, work and play.

Council agrees to raise awareness of public transport and accessibility through regular updates and features in internal and external communications.

Proposer:	Clir Aylen	
Seconders:	Cllr Ayling Cllr Beck	Cllr Garne
		Cllr Garston
	Cllr Bright	Cllr Habermel
	Cllr Buck	Cllr Harp
	Cllr Burton	Cllr Hooper
	Cllr Burzotta	Cllr McGlone
	Cllr Collins	Cllr Moring
	Cllr Cowan	Cllr Nelson
	Cllr Cox	Cllr Salter
	Cllr Davidson	Cllr Shead
	Cllr Dear	Cllr Thompson
	Cllr F Evans	Cllr Walker
	Cllr K Evans	Cllr Wexham
	Cllr Flewitt	
	Cllr Folkard	

Clir Avion